So here we are with survey results! Because of time limitations I didn’t really get to talk about it in the presentation, but it will be really useful in the response paper I’ll have to write this weekend. So to everyone who participated thanks, you are true blue. To everyone who is a fuckin’ flake and doesn’t follow through on what they say they are willing to do, fuck you guys, you are fuckin’ flakes. You will be punished in time when your potential lovers don’t call you back and when your passports don’t arrive in time for an important overseas trip. And there I will be, state department letters in hand and voice mails diverted that say “I had so much fun last night and I can’t wait to hear from you.

Parsing the data:
I’ll admit to engaging in what Francophones would call a double jeux. My purpose was not entirely literal in asking these questions. On the one hand I did want to gauge the difference between how I think of myself and how you, the body public think of me. On the other hand I was also interested to see what you would identify as masculine traits and what you would identify as feminine and how they would balance out.

50% of men say I am mostly masculine and 50% say that I am androgynous and for women 80% say I am mostly masculine and only 20% say I am androgynous (see chart). One thing I noted is that it seemed as if there is a certain amount of masculine capital required to comfortably express femininity. To whit: 75% of those who identified me as androgynous scored my masculinity higher on a scale of 1-10 than my femininity on the same scale. All respondents who ranked me as mostly masculine scaled me at least two points more masculine than feminine. What I take that to indicate is because of my base sex traits that are divergent from the masculine norm are more potent than those which conform to it. For example I can be 7 of 10 masculine and only a 4 or 5 feminine and still be considered equally as masculine as I am feminine.

In the same vein, respondents frequently identified the lack of a masculine quality as the presence of a feminine one. Most commonly this was a lack of interest in sports and physical activity. In only one instance did anyone identify the abscence of a feminine trait as the presence of a masculine one (That I do not seek consensus when forming opinions.) Also, many of you expressed something along the lines of the following:”The strength of [Scott’s] masculine traits allow [him] to express [his] feminine ones without, in general, very much stigma.”
Again indicating that there is a certain masculine cache that must be achieved to be able express feminine traits or even diverge from the masculine norm without spiraling into effeminancy.

The definition I’ve come to use for gender roles is certain attributes and behaviors related to our sex which we allow to have an effect on our self-esteem and from which others derive their esteem for us to a degree. It is easy to use these roles to deflect certain criticisms using these roles as a tool (Of course I can’t do ___, I am a ___!). For me I would say I derive more self-esteem from feminine traits in that I will feel prouder of myself if someone were to say that they like how I reference the emotions of others in conversations than I would if they talked about my healthy appetite or ability to argue assertively. So in that way I had myself pegged as being rather feminine, but most people said I was generally as masculine as other males. I suppose I didn’t think about that all-important masculine cache because to a large degree divergence is rarer and more pronounced than conformity.

So yeah, there we have it. To those wonderful few, thank you, you have done a princely kindness I not likely to soon forget. You are as a rain of ten thousand cherry blossoms, that is to say–good. To those lazy and profligate horrors: I am stamping one hundred stamps of Pakistan, Pakistan, Pakistan, Syria in your passports.

